McIntyre Selected to 2020-21 AHL All-Star Team

May 26, 2021

Lehigh Valley, PA – Phantoms goalie Zane McIntyre has been selected to the 2021 AHL North Division All-Star Team, as voted by AHL coaches, players and media in each of the league’s 28 active member cities. This season, an All-Star Team was selected for each of the league’s five divisions.

McIntyre, 28, completed his sixth year of pro hockey and first with the Phantoms. He backstopped the Phantoms to an 11-3-3 record with a 2.33 goals-against average and .917 save percentage with one shutout. The University of North Dakota product and Mike Richter Award winner in 2015 finished fifth in the AHL in goals-against average in the 2020-21 season and was third in save percentage.

This is the second time that McIntyre has been named to an AHL post-season All-Star Team. He was second-team AHL All-Star in 2016-17 with the Providence Bruins when he posted the league’s top save percentage (.930) and second-best GAA (2.03). He also appeared in the AHL All-Star Classic in that same season held at PPL Center in Allentown.

Zane McIntyre and his wife, Mallory also became parents during the season with the arrival of daughter Mariam Sue McIntyre on March 28, 2021.

McIntyre is the first Phantom to be named to a post-season AHL All-Star Team since center Phil Varone and defenseman T.J. Brennan in 2017-18 who were named to the league’s first-team and second-team respectively.

The 2021-22 season of the American Hockey League begins in October and will run through April. Season tickets for the eighth season of the Lehigh Valley Phantoms are available now. More information on joining our season ticket family can be found HERE


2020-21 AHL Atlantic Division All-Star Team
G – Jeremy Swayman, Providence Bruins (8-1-0, 1.89gaa, .933sv%, 1so)
D – Samuel Bolduc, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (24gp, 6+8=14pts., +5, 1 PPG)
D – Tarmo Reunanen, Hartford Wolf Pack (21gp, 4+13=17pts., 2 PPG)
F – Morgan Barron, Hartford Wolf Pack (21gp, 10+11=21pts., +8, 6 PPG)
F – Cameron Hughes, Providence Bruins (25gp, 5+16=21pts., 1 PPG, 1 SHG)
F – Jakub Lauko, Providence Bruins (23gp, 5+14=19pts., +11, 2 PPG)

2020-21 AHL North Division All-Star Team
G – Zane McIntyre, Lehigh Valley Phantoms (11-3-3, 2.33gaa, .917sv%, 1so)
D – Oskari Laaksonen, Rochester Americans (28gp, 2+15=17pts., 2 PPG, 8 PPA)
D – Cameron Schilling, Hershey Bears (31gp, 4+15=19pts., +12, 1 PPG)
F – Boris Katchouk, Syracuse Crunch (29gp, 11+23=34pts., +17, 1 PPG, 1 GWG)
F – Connor McMichael, Hershey Bears (33gp, 14+13=27pts., +6, 6 PPG, 8 GWG)
F – Taylor Raddysh, Syracuse Crunch (27gp, 12+17=29pts., +2, 3 PPG, 1 SHG)

2020-21 AHL Canadian Division All-Star Team
G – Cayden Primeau, Laval Rocket (11-4-0, 2.10gaa, .909sv%, 2so)
D – Otto Leskinen, Laval Rocket (33gp, 1+16=17pts., +15, 6 PPA)
D – Connor Mackey, Stockton Heat (27gp, 3+13=16pts., 47 SOG, 16 ESP)
F – Kalle Kossila, Toronto Marlies (28gp, 7+22=29pts., +11, 2 PPG, 1 GWG)
F – Egor Sokolov, Belleville Senators (35gp, 15+10=25pts., 3 PPG, 1 GWG)
F – Nathan Todd, Manitoba Moose (36gp, 12+20=32pts., +10, 5 PPG, 2 GWG)

2020-21 AHL Central Division All-Star Team
G – Beck Warm, Chicago Wolves (8-4-1, 2.74gaa, .914sv%, 2so)
D – Calen Addison, Iowa Wild (31gp, 6+16=22pts., +7, 1 PPG, 7 PPA)
D – Cody Franson, Rockford IceHogs (26gp, 4+13=17pts., +1, 9 PPP)
F – Riley Barber, Grand Rapids Griffins (32gp, 20+14=34pts., 8 PPG, 6 GWG)
F – Riley Damiani, Texas Stars (36gp, 11+25=36pts., +3, 4 PPG, 2 GWG)
F – Adam Mascherin, Texas Stars (37gp, 18+16=34pts., +1, 4 PPG, 1 GWG)

2020-21 AHL Pacific Division All-Star Team
G – Logan Thompson, Henderson Silver Knights (16-6-1, 1.96gaa, .943sv%, 2so)
D – Josh Mahura, San Diego Gulls (28gp, 6+14=20pts., +9, 8 PPP, 1 GWG)
D – Ryan Murphy, Henderson Silver Knights (37gp, 5+22=27pts., +4, 14 PPP, 1 GWG)
F – Cooper Marody, Bakersfield Condors (39gp, 21+15=36pts., +17, 3 PPG, 4 GWG)
F – Andrew Poturalski, San Diego Gulls (44gp, 9+34=43pts., 13 PPP, 1 GWG)
F – T.J. Tynan, Colorado Eagles (27gp, 8+27=35pts., 2 PPG, 12 PPA)

Each All-Star Team member will receive a custom-designed crystal award in recognition of his selection to the 2020-21 AHL All-Star Teams.

Recent AHL All-Star Team selections include Cory Schneider (2009), Johnny Boychuk (2009), Ben Lovejoy (2009), P.K. Subban (2010), Jonathan Bernier (2010), Kyle Palmieri (2012), Ben Bishop (2012), Tyler Johnson (2013), Jonathan Marchessault (2013), Justin Schultz (2013), Sami Vatanen (2013), Gustav Nyquist (2013), Brett Connolly (2013), Jake Allen (2014), Mike Hoffman (2014), Petr Mrazek (2014), Colton Sceviour (2014), Matt Murray (2015, 2016), Jacob Markstrom (2015), Colin Miller (2015), Brandon Montour (2016), Frank Vatrano (2016), Mikko Rantanen (2016), Travis Boyd (2017), Austin Czarnik (2018), Andreas Johnsson (2018), Mason Appleton (2018), Carter Verhaeghe (2019), Alex Nedeljkovic (2019), Daniel Carr (2019), Kaapo Kahkonen (2020), Jake Bean (2020), Josh Norris (2020), Alex Barre-Boulet (2020) and Drake Batherson (2020).

The winner of the 2020-21 Fred T. Hunt Memorial Award (sportsmanship, determination, dedication to hockey) will be announced Thursday.