Daniel Briere, Terry Murray Named Honorary Captains for 2017 AHL All-Star Classic Presented by Capital BlueCross

December 12, 2016

Springfield, Mass. – American Hockey League President and Chief Executive Officer David Andrews announced today that Daniel Briere and Terry Murray will serve as the honorary captains for the 2017 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital BlueCross, to be held January 29-30 at the PPL Center in Allentown, Pa., home of the Lehigh Valley Phantoms.

Each year, the All-Star Classic honorary captains join the participating teams in the locker room and on the benches during the event, and are recognized for their careers at the annual AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony.

Drafted by the Phoenix Coyotes in 1996, Daniel Briere spent the majority of his first four professional seasons in the American Hockey League, skating in 169 games with the Springfield Falcons and winning the Dudley “Red” Garrett Memorial Award as the AHL’s outstanding rookie in 1997-98. Briere, who later had a brief stint with the Philadelphia Phantoms in 2008-09, would go on to play 973 regular-season games and 124 Stanley Cup Playoff contests in the National Hockey League with Phoenix, Buffalo, Philadelphia, Montreal and Colorado before retiring in 2015. The two-time NHL All-Star also participated in the 1998 AHL All-Star Classic.

Briere appeared in 364 career games with the Flyers from 2007 to 2013 during which he compiled 124 goals, 159 assists and 283 total points in addition to three games with the Phantoms in 2008 (1 goal, 4 assists). Philadelphia qualified for the postseason in five of Briere’s six seasons with the organization, including a run to the Stanley Cup Final in 2010.

JustSports PhotographyCurrently an assistant coach with the Buffalo Sabres, Terry Murray was a two-time winner of the Eddie Shore Award as the outstanding defenseman in the AHL, capturing the honor in both 1977-78 and 1978-79 while a Philadelphia Flyers prospect with the back-to-back Calder Cup champion Maine Mariners. Murray, who played 363 regular-season games in the AHL, was named a First Team AHL All-Star three times before moving behind the bench in 1983. He has since spent 15 seasons as an NHL head coach and 11 more as an assistant, and he won 150 games as an AHL head coach with the Baltimore Skipjacks (1988-90) and the Adirondack/Lehigh Valley Phantoms (2012-15).

As bench boss of the Phantoms, Murray compiled 94 total wins across three seasons and served as the club’s head coach during the team’s Inaugural Season in Lehigh Valley.

Starting at just $67, tickets for the 2017 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital BlueCross are on sale now and include admission to Saturday’s Phan Fest & Tailgate Party, Sunday’s AHL All-Star Skills Competition and Monday’s AHL All-Star Challenge. To purchase event tickets, please visit or

The 2017 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital BlueCross will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League: since 1995, more than 93 percent of All-Star Classic participants have gone on to compete in the National Hockey League, including Jake Allen, Artem Anisimov, Patrice Bergeron, Ben Bishop, Troy Brouwer, Ryan Callahan, Zdeno Chara, Logan Couture, Braden Holtby, Tyler Johnson, Martin Jones, Chris Kunitz, Zach Parise, Tuukka Rask, Pekka Rinne, Bobby Ryan, Cory Schneider, Patrick Sharp, Jason Spezza, P.K. Subban and Mats Zuccarello, as well as former Lehigh Valley Phantoms representatives Nick Cousins, Brandon Manning and Anthony Stolarz.

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to serve as the top development league for the players, coaches, managers, trainers, executives and broadcasters of all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of NHL players last season were AHL graduates, and more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame spent time in the AHL in their careers. In 2015-16, over 7.1 million fans attended AHL regular-season and playoff games across North America, the highest total attendance in league history.

RISE UP! Another thrilling season of Lehigh Valley Phantoms hockey at PPL Center is underway! Reserve your season tickets and group outings for the 2016-2017 season of Phantoms hockey today. For more information on how to reserve your seat at PPL Center to the hottest ticket in town, call the Phantoms front office today at 610-224-GOAL [4625]!

And for the latest Phantoms news, visit or follow the team on Facebook (, Twitter (@lvphantoms), Instagram (@lehighvalleyphantoms) and Snapchat (lvphantoms).

The Phantoms are thrilled to host the 2017 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital BlueCross at PPL Center January 28-30. The AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital BlueCross weekend includes a Phan Fest during the day on Saturday, January 28 and a Tailgate Party that evening, followed by the AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Sunday, January 29 and the 2017 AHL All-Star Game on Monday, January 30. Don’t miss this once-in-a-lifetime event. Packages starting at just $67 for the 2017 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital BlueCross weekend are on sale now and include admission to Saturday’s Phan Fest & Tailgate Party, Sunday’s AHL All-Star Skills Competition and Monday’s All-Star Game. To purchase tickets, please visit or

The Phantoms are coming off their 20th Anniversary Season and second campaign in the Lehigh Valley playing at the state-of-the-art PPL Center. Established in 1996, the Phantoms spent their first 13 seasons at the Spectrum in Philadelphia before re-locating to Glens Falls, New York in 2009 where the team spent the next five seasons as the Adirondack Phantoms. A new era of Phantoms hockey began in the fall of 2014 when the Lehigh Valley Phantoms began play at the state-of-the-art PPL Center. Through 20 incredibly successful campaigns, the Phantoms have captured two Calder Cup Championships (1998, 2005), two Conference Championships (1998, 2005), two Regular Season Titles (1996-97, 1997-98) and four Division Championships (1996-97, 1997-98, 1998-99, 2003-04).