Bud Light
Adirondack Phantoms
bar bar bar bar bar bar bar bar bar
Nov 22-23 Top Banner 1
Home page

Zack FitzGerald Named Phantoms 2013-14 IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of Year

April 2, 2014

The Adirondack Phantoms are proud to announce that Zack FitzGerald has been named the team's winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the North Country and Glens Falls community during the 2013-14 season.

This is the second consecutive season for Zack FitzGerald to receive the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year honor for the Phantoms. Zack is always eager to be a part of any promotional efforts that give back to the fans. In his two seasons with the Phantoms, he has quickly become one of the most popular players in team history. One of the biggest promotions for the Phantoms this year was "Zack FitzGerald Appreciation Night" on January 4th. Upon entry to the game, fans received cardboard Fitzy Heads on a Stick. Zack was honored before the game in recognition of his efforts to always interact with the fans, especially the kids. He offered his own personal Thank You message on the video-board during the game in which he conveyed how humbled he was by the honor.

Zack continues to be an exemplary role model away from the rink having appeared in several events and appearances that have been arranged by the Phantoms such as a Teddy Bear drop-off at the Salvation Army in which the team donated hundreds of stuffed animal from their Teddy Bear Toss night to be distributed to children in need in the community. He has also contributed to the community on his own accord without any arrangement from the team having been spotted clearing snow off a local pond for kids to skate on and recently helping reunite a lost dog with its owners that he found on the side of the road late at night by using his social media.

Zack FitzGerald is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL's 2013-14 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yannick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League later this month.

Season-by-season winners of the Phantoms IOA/American Specialty Man of the Year
2013-14 - Zack FitzGerald
2012-13 - Zack FitzGerald
2011-12 - Cullen Eddy
2010-11 - J.P. Testwuide
2009-10 - Logan Stephenson


Friday, April 4 (7:00) - Norfolk Admirals at Adirondack Phantoms

Saturday, April 5 (7:00) - Bridgeport Sound Tigers at Adirondack Phantoms

Sunday, April 6 (3:00) - Albany Devils at Adirondack Phantoms

25 Terrific Seasons
Glens Falls is celebrating its 25th season hosting an AHL team and in so doing now joins an elite group of just 9 other active markets who can make such a claim. It's a great hockey tradition with an old-school feel that began with the Adirondack Red Wings in 1979. In their 20-year tenure at the Glens Falls Civic Center through 1999, the Red Wings won four Calder Cups. The Adirondack Phantoms began play in Glens Falls in 2009-10 and are in their fifth season bringing exciting AHL action to the North Country.






= Tickets
= Listen Live
= Watch Live

Recent Team Headlines:
PhantomsHockey.com is the official Web site of The Adirondack Phantoms. The Adirondack Phantoms and Phantomshockey.com are trademarks of Phantoms Hockey, LLC.
All AHL logos and marks and AHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the AHL and the respective
AHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of The Adirondack Phantoms and the AHL.
Copyright © 2013 Phantoms Hockey, LLC. All Rights Reserved.